Removing the carb and turbo

Home Page Forums Discussion Topics – Ask the Experts Removing the carb and turbo

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    jetfireguy

Hi, guys. I just completed the removal of my carb and turbo on my ’63. I’m no mechanic, but I thought I could at least remove them. I finally had to remove the accelerator linkage and disconnect a tube under the carb just to get the carb away from the throttle body. Then I somehow managed to get the throttle body off of the turbo to gain access to the turbo mounting bolts. I dont know how I will ever get the nuts threaded back on the lower studs between the turbo and throttle body and the carb and throttle body. Anybody know a skinny 6 yr.old I can get to get his hands under everything when i try to get it back together?

How about some advice?

JimNoel
    Participant

Hi,
    The best way to remove the turbo unit is as a complete unit. Only disassemble the carb and throttle body, once off the intake manifold. The bad nut to be removed is the back foot flange attaching point to the intake manifold. You are only allowed a short turn each time you put the wrench on the nut. Slow to remove but not hard.
    Unless you like standing on your head or “killing” your back, remove the hood first! Four nuts and it is off, topside of hood hinges to hood studs.
    Second, remove the tip of the oil return line to the right side valve cover. This requires some diligents for the short wrench movement that is allowed in this tight space. They are a loose nut and a bolt, need to hold the back side while turning the front side.
    Next, remove the two short bolts from the two legged throttle retard canister that attach to the intake manifold, just under the throttle linkage. Pull off the throttle linkage connection (short “Z” action link) to your carb.