i should introduce myself

Home Page Forums Discussion Topics – Ask the Experts i should introduce myself

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    jensenracing77
    Participant

I am new to the Jetfire but not new to Oldsmobile’s. i got my first car in 1990. it was a Rallye 350 and i still have it. around 2002 my wife and i got a 62 Dynamic 88 and loved it. we decided to sell it in 2003 to find a 62 Starfire but after selling the 88 we could never afford the Starfire. back around July area i showed my wife a picture of a 62 F-85 Cutlass. she instantly fell in love with it. the Dynamic 88 we had was a red interior and she said the F-85 had to be also. she also wanted a white top. well, we looked till now to find her a 62 with the Cutlass option with nice red interior. i figured i would have to build one to fit her description but when we found this one we both fell in love. it is not a perfect car but it sure is unmolested. i am looking forward to driving it this summer.

Jetfire 1

Jetfire 2

Jetfire 3

Attachments:
    macf85
    Participant

Welcome to the forum! That’s a great looking Jetfire. Does it have a working turbocharger?

jensenracing77
    Participant

the turbo is all there but it is not working. i sell Oldsmobile parts on the side and if i can do good this year i will have Jim rebuilt it for me. does anyone know if it will hurt the turbo worse by driving it. the car came with an extra turbo but i don’t really want to put it on. it is all original. the head number matches the protect-o-plate and all. also, does anyone know when they started production on these cars. this is a 5th week in May build date. it was sold in NY on June 18 1962.

jetfire4

Attachments:
    macf85
    Participant

I don’t know the exact date they started production but the Jetfire was introduced mid-way through the 1962 year. You probably have one of the earliest cars.